RSS

3DS Demos

21 Mar

3ds_eshop

I guess many with me are happy that Nintendo put up demos of new games on the 3DS eShop. Recently they have stopped me from buying some crappy games and wanting to buy one game. There is one thing I miss though; demos of Nintendo’s own games. Where are the demos of Super Mario Kart, Super Mario 3D Land or New Super Mario Bros 2?

Bad discoveries

Before a recent trip I downloaded a few new (and old) demos for the 3DS, hoping to have some fun with them and also to figure out if some of them are worth buying. As regular readers of my blog probably know by now I am an avid fan of the Castlevania games, with a few exceptions e.g. Lords of Shadows on Xbox 360. The game Castlevania: Lords of Shadow – Mirror of Fate seemed quite good on the previews, but when I tried it a bit at the Eurogamer Expo last year it didn’t fall out well. I hoped that was just due to the “stressed” environment of the Expo, but after playing the demo I knew that impression was correct. The camera is a bit weird; on some screens you sort of walk diagonally inwards, even though you can only move backwards or forwards. It also lacked the intensity and colorful (though dark) surroundings that the Gameboy Advance games had.

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Mirror of Fate

For many years now I have wished they make a true 2D Castlevania. The tries with 3D hasn’t worked so well. It is not the graphic that have failed though, it more about bad camera handling and tricky control schemes

Another let-down was Lego Lord of the Rings. The presentation was too messy on such a small screen and the movement and action was a bit uncontrollable. I am glad that the versions for Xbox 360 and PS3 is different; will have to try those out, crossing my fingers that they are better than this.

One game that positively surprised me is Rayman Origins, with its very playful and tough platforming acrobatics. I love the sound effects and music, and the game world is so lush and living. I think I have to buy the full version soon, after I finally finish Super Mario 3D Land.

Absences

One disappointment on the demo availability-front on the 3DS is the absence of most (all) of Nintendo’s own games. I know there is a demo for Nintendogs, but when it comes to their prime titles, like Mario Kart, Super Mario 3D Land and Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D, where are the demos for those games!? I as a lifelong Nintendo fan was finally hoping for a chance to play these titles in advance; at least trying them out before buying them. One such game I would like to try out before buying is New Super Mario Bros 2, where you collect coins like a maniac. It might be an excellent game as Super Mario 3D Land, but it might also be too much like New Super Mario Bros Wii which I didn’t dig too much, even though I am a Mario fan in most other stances.

New Super Mario Bros 2

Please let me play a demo of NSMB2, so I know if it is worth buying or not

I won’t complain too much though; I am happy with the demos that are available, but you have to agree; it is a bit strange that Nintendo doesn’t use the Demo service they introduced themselves…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2013 in Ravings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “3DS Demos

  1. Eric @ The Warning Sign

    March 24, 2013 at 12:42 am

    I don’t know if there are any differences between the two versions, but I have Rayman Origins for the Vita, and I love it. I got sidetracked recently so I need to go back and play some more, but it’s one of the better platformers I have played in a while. And it looks so beautiful on the OLED screen — it’s like playing a live cartoon. So cool.

    Bummer to hear about Castlevania. Seems that series is stuck in a rut, unfortunately.

     
    • Anders

      March 24, 2013 at 1:12 pm

      Good to hear Eric, and it seems quite the same on 3DS. It has one of the loveliest graphics I’ve seen on the machine; beautiful, cartoony and crisp clear. Thanx for letting me know it is good 🙂 that encourage me even more to purchase it!

       
  2. Elevator Manufacturer

    July 22, 2013 at 6:26 am

    amazing post thanks for sharing with me.

     

Leave a comment