RSS

Best games of E3 2012

15 Jun

Best of E3 2012

So which games managed to surface above all the “game noise” that E3 represents? Here are some new revelations and updated old coming games that caught my attention during the show, and some that could have done better… Mind you, the best one is at the bottom!

Beyond: Two Souls

Beyond: Two Souls

This game looks great, but are the looks all there is? I haven’t seen much gameplay yet so it is hard to judge the play style and such. The game looks like a cool thriller, where you are playing a girl that is chased (or is chasing someone?). You take control of her during five different periods of her life, i.e. playing her at different ages. The visual is similar to Heavy Rain, but even smoother; maybe more like The Last of Us. Beautiful game, that hopefully will be fun to play also!

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow – Mirror of Fate

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow - Mirror of Fate

Castlevania is one of the “old” series that I have very close to my heart. I liked most of the earlier games; although I haven’t finished the first Castlevania: Lord of Shadow yet. I was glad when I heard about the announcement of a Castlevania for the 3DS, but now after seeing some videos from it I am not sure I agree on the visual style they have chosen. It seems like an antique 3D game with very rough edges; why can’t they keep it in 2d. They could still give it nice 3D touches with dynamic backgrounds and that kind of effects. Let’s wait and see until we know more about it.

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

A game to look forward to, even though, as stated above, I haven’t finished the first game.

Crysis 3

Crysis 3

From what I have seen of this sequel to one of the nicest shooters for a long time it looks promising. Even though it doesn’t add so much new things, it still looks like they have found new cool environments that we can play in. I always longed for more of Crysis 2 after I finished that; this seems to be what I wanted!

Dishonored

Dishonored

Dishonored has a bit of Half-life 2’s style, with some addition of Bioshock and Deus Ex. This all adds up to a Victorian/cyberpunk game with supernatural features and gruesome and bloody battles. Another beautiful game, although it might be bit too bloody for my taste. It is possible to create a violent and “heavy atmospheric” game without having too much blood, just look at Half-life 2. I hope Dishonored doesn’t drown in celebration of violence, but that it also adds a lot of intelligent gameplay that the earlier mentioned comparative titles possess.

Lego City Undercover

Lego City Undercover

Another seemingly cool Lego game coming; this one set in the City world of Lego. Looks like it could be funny a Lego game with its funny twists and cool small side-adventures.

Lego Lord of the Rings

Lego Lord of the Rings

Yes! This is the Lego game I have always longed for; and I think many other Lego / Lord of the rings fans with me. A huge world to explore, with the well known underlying story and the irony of the Lego series, this cannot go wrong. At least, I hope not. High hopes, high hopes!! I wish I can get my hands on a playable demo soon, then I’ll tell you more.

Mark of the Ninja

Mark of the Ninja

Finally a new 2D game that looks nicely detailed and challenging. Ever since I started play games I have enjoyed platform games, especially a bit harder ones, like the old Super Mario games and Mega Man games. This game, Mark of the Ninja, seems to be bit like those game; of course with the additions that current hardware can add.

Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

Yes, I’ve talked about this game a long time ago also, but I cannot stop wanting it! Now it just around seven months to go… The latest trailer looks amazing and I can’t stop looking forward to play around in a Ghibli movie. It looks so great, the lushness and tranquility of the world and the beauty of the characters. What got me extra excited was the fact that you can turn of English audio and only listen to the original Japanese speech while reading subtitles. That is a great feature and a thing I always do when possible when watching movies; listen to the original voice with subtitles; it gives everything a more authentic feeling! Next year’s most wanted, definitely!

Resident Evil 6

Resident Evil 6

Not sure if I should have this game in this article, but since I am a big Resident Evil fan, at least the recent games, I “have” to include it. I am hoping for a claustrophobic game with too little ammunition, scary enemies and some hard-to-crack puzzles. The latest game in the franchise, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City, has gotten quite bad reviews and I for one will stay away from it; it seems like a typical, bland mostly multiplayer shooter to me. Resident Evil 6 will hopefully be different, mainly because it follows the main series; although the trailer at E3 didn’t do me any good; it was mostly running and shooting and too few really frightening moments. But as I use to say, I keep my fingers crossed for the best outcome; please make it scary!!

SimCity

SimCity

Strategy games haven’t been the biggest genre the last years, if you exclude Starcraft II there hasn’t been any blockbusters in this genre for very long. I remember playing the original SimCity 15-20 years ago, and it was great. This new iteration seems fresh and dynamic; the trailer didn’t reveal too much but I hope it can help to give new life into a genre at sleep.

The Last of Us

The Last of Us

The Last of Us puts you in a near future, where you, as a middle aged man accompanied by a young girl tries to survive on what is left of the civilized world. The graphic style is a mix of Uncharted and Enslaved and the play style seems to be based on exploration and rationing of equipment and ammunition. The world seems quite green; I like that; most near future and apocalyptic games seems to tend for a gray vision. The Last of Us game world resembles Enslaved in that way, although without the mechs (as far as I know). A game to look forward to, if you want to play in a green shaded version of the story The Road. I for one want to try it out!

Tomb Raider

Tomb Raider

Another series “reboot”, but it looks like a good one! It seems like a nice adventure game, with physical challenges as well as fighting and exploration of beautiful vistas!

Watch Dogs

Watch Dogs

Watch Dogs surely is the prime game that was revealed at this year’s E3! It is an open-world game where you play a guy who can access and take advantage of a whole city’s intelligence, infrastructure, communication and electricity systems. In the demo the player for example shut down the cell phone functionality for a few people, so he could sneak into a place. Later on he created a massive traffic jam/crash by re-routing the traffic lights causing chaos hence making his target’s car stop. I like the idea behind the GTA games with its open-world philosophy, but I am not a big fan of the violence and “criminal” style you are forced to take in order to fully appreciate those games. Watch Dogs surely also plays on both sides of the law, but in a less openly violent and “harsh” way. At least to me it seem you are playing a small-time hacker that gotten his hands on a super power, with the access to the city’s intelligence systems. One of the top games to look forward to!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2012 in Article

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Best games of E3 2012

  1. Eric

    June 16, 2012 at 12:26 am

    No mention of The Last of Us? :O

    I’m glad you highlighted Beyond, Ni no Kuni and Watch Dogs. I am especially excited for that last one since it takes place in Chicago. I have been waiting for a sandbox style game in my city for a while now. Looks really cool, too.

     
    • gotounknown

      June 16, 2012 at 11:12 am

      Haha, thanks Eric for pointing that out :O I added The Last of Us now. I think I forgot it because I wrote about it in the E3 press conference post and didn’t think about it again, ie though I had already put it in this post also… 🙂

      Ni No Kuni and Watch Dogs sure are games that will be great (fingers crossed!). Ni No Kuni with its green, lush and Ghibli-adventure-movie style and Watch Dogs with its modern day superman with access to the information highway. Yeah, it would be cool with a game that takes place in your own city; hope you will find many familiar places! I have high hopes for Beyond, just hoping that it will at least have some action and puzzles that are harder to beat than just pressing the correct button sequence 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
